August Already

Where has the summer gone?

As I write this I realize it’s been over a month since I posted anything. It’s been that kind of summer – rich, full, busy, with lots to think about and not nearly enough time for writing. Well, you know. I have all the same time that anyone else does, but I have been doing things other than writing (or at least blogging) with it.

About a month ago I completed my first unit of CPE – Clinical Pastoral Education, as I’ve mentioned before. It was a very different experience this time around, compared to my unsuccessful attempt elsewhere two years ago; after last time I had expected that I was not at all suited to serve as a chaplain, but this time I fell in love with the work. I’m delighted to be staying on as a very occasional on-call chaplain, at least for the next few months – it means a little gas money, and opportunities to practice my vocation. That I am here, doing this, is a bit of inexplicable grace and wonder.

 

It feels strange to not be worrying about finishing CPE anymore. I am no longer stuck, stalled, waiting; now I am trying to remember what it feels like to be looking forward without a huge mountain in the way. I can stop saying that I hope to start internship in the fall and start saying that it is, in fact, a real thing that is going to happen less than a month from now.

And I have no doubt that I will fall in love with parish ministry, too. I loved it before, when I was serving as a lay leader in my home congregation. So for that reason I am looking forward to internship, to getting to know an entirely new congregation in my new role as student minister. The last couple of years I have felt increasingly disillusioned and dissatisfied with church and I have come to realize, this summer, that a big part of that is because I have not been able to serve there – I have been wandering in the wilderness between layperson and professional minister, and having no clear role has been weird and uncomfortable and, in my circumstances, extended a lot longer than I had initially planned.

But this summer has been a bit like coming up for air and looking around and realizing that my wide detour into intense personal work has come to a natural close, if not a conclusion, and there is a way forward that is not straight up a stone wall or way out into the puckerbrush.

The impulse to do all of the things at once is very strong.

Off we go.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.