Resurrection

This is not an abandoned blog.

Close up photo of two daffodil flowers, yellow with orange centers, and some green foliage

This is, however, a blog whose writer is deeply absorbed in things that are happening in the part of the world that is not the internet.

A general update:

This is the first week since I can’t remember when, probably last December, that I have not had something due for some purpose, on deadline. Papers and discussion posts for class, reflections and verbatims for CPE, the occasional urgently long-winded argument somewhere on the internet. Long-form blogging, taking time to think about things and craft a written response purely for the sake of my own satisfaction, has become something of a luxury. I hope to get back to it. Like painting, and textile craft, and puttering in the garden. I don’t know when.

Spring too is the busy season for UU clergy (and seminarians) – search and candidating and call, interviews with the MFC, ordinations and graduations and installations. I have had the genuine pleasure of seeing some dear friends and colleagues move ahead in their ministries; for me it is also bittersweet because I am still in the middle of the process and not moving as quickly or as confidently as I would prefer.

So what is the outcome of all this subterranean busy-ness? I wrapped up the coursework for History of the Western Christian Tradition Part Two a couple of weeks ago, and am waiting – not anxiously but curiously – for my grade on that. It is the second-to-last academic class of my MDiv. (Due to a quirk of scheduling, I may end up having to take my last class correspondence, from another seminary, which was also not part of the original plan. But that is – like so many things – as yet indeterminate.) It is strange not to be “in school.” I had really only just gotten used to that.

CPE is also going well – Clinical Pastoral Education, the chaplaincy internship that I started back in early March, which will continue into early July. CPE is 400 hours per unit; many units are 40 hours a week for 10 weeks, mine is 20 hours a week for 20. In consideration of the privacy of patients and colleagues, I will not be telling tales from the hospital here. Some things in the world deserve to be held gently and close.

But I drive a lot – my CPE site is about an hour away, three days a week. Next fall, I am looking forward to beginning parish internship, a slightly shorter commute but with a lot less parking. And I’ve resumed volunteering at the local hospital, as long as scheduling permits. So I am busy, and getting to practice my calling, a little bit, instead of sitting on the computer thinking about it.

Meanwhile, Spouse decided that this was the year of removing and replacing the shed. It is still a work in progress, but progress is visible. The woodchuck that used to live under the old rotten-floored rusted-out shed is actively displeased with this turn of events; I hope it moves along and squats in someone else’s garden instead. I have not even planned to plant this year and it is already the end of May with June coming fast; possibly there will not be a garden at all, except for Spouse’s squashlings, which need to be planted out soon – but the shed needs to be finished first, because the squash bed is, in the local vernacular, “up behind where the shed usta be.”

We navigate by the absence of landmarks, here. There’s probably a sermon in that.

So that’s the news from the Sand Hill. Lots of mileage on the old red wagon, lots of paperwork, half a shed, a displeased woodchuck, and the great circle of life grinds on.

This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resurrection

  1. Gemma Lily says:

    So glad that CPE is going well!

Comments are closed.