Deep breath before the plunge

The wind howls tonight, rattling the windows and stripping the last lingering leaves from the trees. We had snow flurries earlier in the week and are forecast for more. I am trying to receive this bitter cold wind as a sort of practice run for my travel to Chicago in January. But I did not grow up with this kind of fierce winter and I do not think I will ever really grow accustomed to it.

November 2013 is going to be a really light month for blogging, I’m afraid. Middle of my first semester as a seminary student and I am quite predictably scrambling around in all directions and this ends up taking a back seat to things with deadlines and external accountability.

Perhaps I shouldn’t let it.

There are a lot of things I should be doing differently, or at least want to be doing differently. I want to make more time for prayer. I want to make more time for art. I need to structure some time for getting life maintenance things done and for paying attention to Spouse, who is being fairly patient and responsible with my unscheduled change of life.

I want to have figured out how to manage my time more efficiently, to be able to get in all of the things I have to do and still have room left for some of the things I want to do, but this is a puzzle with an infinite number of ever-shifting pieces.

I want to do this right. I’m still struggling with that.

It is a steep climb in fog and unknown terrain but I hope that eventually when the fog lifts I can look behind me and see how far I have come, if not how far there is left to go.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.