A long strange trip…

Today has been an intentionally quiet day, the last day of my so-called vacation – a vacation at least in the sense of an absence from my pre-existing life, complete with travel and fun but not a vacation in the traditional rest and relaxation sense. I have been at school, at fall convocation, immersed over my head in intense study and intentional community for three days, with travel on either end. So much, so fast, and no time to process…

Today has been a “down” day, spent sleeping and petting the cat and nursing the toe I injured very late Wednesday night. I managed to stumble on a concrete curb while wearing sandals, and my toe has not forgiven me yet. I think I may have broken it, or dislocated the tip. Doc’s office says tape it up, stay off it and call us next week. I don’t have time for this… but I am trying to receive it as a message to slow down and take care of myself.

Part of my mind wants to be racing around. There is so much I need to be doing right now: completing my career assessment paperwork and getting that into the mail; finding a community site for my volunteer placement this year; downloading reading lists and buying the books I can’t read for free on the internet; paying the credit card bill that has the first tuition installment on it; listening for the voice of intuition to guide me through negotiating whether to work part time or leave my job entirely; writing, writing, writing…

There was a blog post I wanted to write last week, but I never got the words onto the screen and now the moment is past. If it needs to be written, it will come back in its own time, like the migratory birds that are starting to gather. The leaves are still green this time of year, but it is a golden green now, and the most excitable of the maples have started to turn.

I am still very tired, even after sleeping so much of today – a precious quiet day that I should, could, would have been doing so many things with had I not been so entirely exhausted and tender of foot. Maybe I will get something done tomorrow. For now, I am going to rest and write in the quiet of the evening, hoping that everything which is fragmented and scattered in my soul will find its way home.

This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.