The End of Ordinary Time

Unitarian Universalists, as a broad and general rule, do not follow the Christian liturgical calendar. There are, of course, individual exceptions.

Today, in the Christian tradition, is Ash Wednesday, marking the beginning of Lent. Spouse is an observant Catholic, so I am conscious of the passage of Lent in our household largely by remembering that meat and eggs are not OK on Fridays. When I was a child in Louisiana, I was of course conscious of Carnival, the period between Epiphany and Lent, as the season of parades and parties culminating on Mardi Gras or Fat Tuesday, the day before Ash Wednesday. Lent itself not so much, except in hearing my Catholic schoolmates talk about what they were or weren’t giving up for Lent this year.

The wheel comes round. This season, through reading the various clergy blogs I’ve been following, I’m developing a slightly deeper sense of the Christian liturgical calendar and its rhythms. I’m interested to see how this continues. Part of my formation as a minister has got to include untangling my own complex relationship to the Christian tradition.

Got email confirmation that my seminary application packet was received – and that I’d forgotten to include the application fee. Oops. I am grateful for the Internet and credit cards that let me fix this kind of thing. Now I am just waiting for the last letter of reference to arrive. (I am slightly anxious that if this person backs out or fails to deliver, I will have considerable difficulty finding an appropriate alternate reference.)

This week also brought a renewal of uncertainty regarding Spouse’s employment status past the end of the current government fiscal year. Which happens every year about this time, but this year it is more so, for reasons that are not appropriate for me to detail in public.

And so I am in a time of waiting. Waiting for things to happen which are outside my control, and which will determine the course of what I do next and how I do it.

And it happens to be Lent.

And it happens that some of the things that are pending will swing one way or the other in about five or six weeks.

Right about Easter.

It’s funny when things like this happen.

This entry was posted in Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.